BBD#17 – Baked Potato Bread

Baked Potato Bread

Baked Potato Bread

What will Jackie make for Bread and Potatoes, the theme for Bread Baking Day #17?

breadbakingday17

I’ve baked bread with potatoes on several occasions before, but usually the potato component consists of instant potato flakes that pop up in a recipe every now and then. AK wondered if I could concoct a loaf that tasted like a baked potato with all the trimmings: sour cream, chives, butter, garlic and bacon. As it turns out, Floyd at The Fresh Loaf already worked this combination out, so I took his recipe and ran with it.

Update: Roundup posted here (large breads) and here (small breads)!

Baked potato bread

Inspired by Floyd’s creation

Makes two small (one pound) or one large loaf

Ingredients

- 1/2 cup mashed potatoes: I used three small red potatoes and mashed them with the skins on so the loaf will have some flecks of red in it
- 4 – 4 1/2  cups bread flour
- 1 1/4 cups plain whole milk yogurt + whey*
- 2 tsp instant yeast
- 1 1/4 tsp salt
- 1/2 cup chopped fresh chives, or scallions: I used scallions
- 2 tbsp butter
- ~4 cloves garlic, minced
- 1/4 cup cooked bacon, optional**

*The original recipe calls for 3/4 cup water and 1/2 cup sour cream. Since I make my own yogurt at home, I simply skimmed off the whey (liquid) to substitute for the water and used plain whole milk yogurt in place of the sour cream. You could probably use buttermilk here as well.
**I left it out because I wanted to try this loaf. A good number of you will probably argue that the addition of bacon is, in fact, not optional. ;)

Directions

I started by boiling the cleaned potatoes. Once they were done, I mashed them and added the garlic, which was sauteed in the butter, along with the scallions (or chives) and let that cool until slightly warm.

At this point, the mashed potatoes nearly didn't make it into the loaf.

These mashed potatoes, um, nearly didn't make it into the loaf.

Next, I mixed the mashed potatoes with the yogurt, yeast, salt and two cups of flour in a large mixing bowl until combined. Gradually add more flour until you get a soft dough – it will be sticky and wet but workable. You may be tempted to cuss because of the stickiness; trust your instincts. Knead for five to ten minutes until the dough starts to take shape, place in a lightly-oiled bowl, cover, and let rise for 90 minutes or until roughly doubled in bulk.

I shaped the dough into a boule, but a sandwich loaf should be pretty good too. My boule was left to rise in a makeshift banneton for around 45 minutes.

Slash and bake with steam (on a preheated baking stone, or if you’re like me and don’t have one (!!), in a lidded Pyrex bowl) at 425F for eight minutes, then without steam for an additional 22-27 minutes (total baking time: 30-35 minutes) or until the crust is a caramel brown and the loaf sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom.

Smells like a baked potato, looks like a bread.

Smells like a baked potato, looks like a bread. Tastes like a baked potato AND a bread = win!

Baked potato bread crumb.

Baked potato bread crumb.

* * *

This loaf goes to the host of this month’s Bread Baking Day, Lien at Notitie van Lien; BBD’s founder, Zorra of 1x umrühren bitte, AK for suggesting the baked potato bread concept, Floyd at The Fresh Loaf for inspiration, and Susan at Wild Yeast for Yeastspotting.

Tags: , ,

16 Responses to “BBD#17 – Baked Potato Bread”

  1. em Says:

    Looks amazing and the way you describe it as tasting like both a baked potato AND bread makes me seriously want a slice right now.
    Will you try some of this bread with some sour cream? :p

  2. toxobread Says:

    Em: hmm probably not with sour cream (I don’t think I’ve ever had bread spread with sour cream) but definitely toasted with a bit of butter, or toasted with cheese on top?

  3. notitievanlien Says:

    that mash looks good on it’s own! But I’m glad you restrained yourself and baked this wonderful loaf!! Thanks for participating this months BBD#17!

  4. zorra Says:

    Yum a savory tasty bread, love it!

  5. Mike Says:

    Potato bread? Carb heaven <3

  6. Chuck Says:

    Jackie, how’s things going. I love the breads that you are making these days. Wonderful! This is my first time participating in the Bread Baking Days. So, it’s nice to see you involved. I would sure like a slice or two!

  7. Jude Says:

    Very cool idea. Great minds definitely think alike :)

  8. MyKitchenInHalfCups Says:

    I will be putting the bacon in, this looks incredible!!

  9. toxobread Says:

    Lien: Well, I did sample a few spoonfuls of the mashed potato before combining it with the yeast and buttermilk and it was great! Thanks for hosting Bread Baking Day this month. I had a lot of fun participating in it.

    Zorra: Yes, I love it when a savory bread turns out like this!

    Mike: Carbtastic, yummy. I think potatoes and bread go *very* well together – there has also been potato pizza making the rounds lately too; what do you think of that?

    Chuck! I’ve always loved the creativity of the breads you bake! I’m so glad you joined in BBD#17 this month – both the potato sour cream and chive bread, and roasted potato and onion bread look fantastic. Definitely bookmarked. :)

    Jude: Yup :D and now I’ve got to remember to buy potatoes on my next grocery shopping trip to try making the rosemary potato pizza. Starch on starch = oh yeah, haha

    Tanna: Sure thing! I’ve heard that adding bacon in it will really take the loaf to another level!

  10. glenda Says:

    Isn’t it fun to bake with yogurt and potatoes? You did a great job!!!

    • toxobread Says:

      Glenda: Thanks! I really enjoyed baking with yogurt and potatoes (and thinking of even more combinations as we speak).

  11. YeastSpotting March 6, 2009 | Wild Yeast Says:

    [...] Baked Potato Bread [...]

  12. Susan/Wild Yeast Says:

    Wow, first thing I thought when I saw those potatoes was I don’t think there would have been much left of them to put into the bread — so you are a stronger woman than I and the payoff looks well worth it!

  13. siri Says:

    Looks awesome- I love your header by the way with the seeds and different shades of gold and brown.

    I think including bacon in that bread would be a must!

  14. toxobread Says:

    Susan: well, [cough] that photo was taken before I “sampled” some of the mashed potatoes, but there was a heaping 1/2 cup left over for the loaf. ;)

    Siri: thanks! I didn’t try it with bacon because I’m vegetarian, but it should be a great addition!

  15. they just keep growin’ « Toxo Bread Says:

    [...] rice, scallion buns, omelettes with scallions, baked potatoes topped with scallions, loaves of baked potato bread with scallions, just to keep them in [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

