Lemon Blueberry Bread

My friend asked me to teach her how to bake.

“Sure,” I said. “What do you want to learn how to bake?”

“How about that blueberry [cream cheese] braid…?”

“Erm… that’s a sweet yeasted bread with two fillings, and takes two days to make. It’s probably not a good place to start if you’ve never baked before.”

We settled on baking this loaf of lemon blueberry bread instead.

Lemon Blueberry Bread

Recipe: adapted from Jen Yu‘s Blueberry Muffins (Cake) » baked as a loaf

We were initially going to make muffins, but decided on baking a loaf instead. This meant it was baked in a 9×5 loaf pan at 350F for slightly over an hour, until a toothpick inserted in the center came out clean (if the toothpick comes out with batter sticking to it, it means that the loaf has not finished baking yet).

Ten minutes later…

This was an easy-to-make and delicious quick bread that worked well with the frozen blueberries I had on hand. Although I didn’t get around to posting this until now, it was actually baked on Mother’s Day and I think my mom would have loved to have some that day. Lemon zest + blueberries are one of her favourite combinations. So… Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!❤

Since I can totally eat this for breakfast (and would have if I didn’t let my friend take the rest of it home with her), this is my submission for BreadBakingDay#10: Breakfast Breads hosted by the talented Melissa of Baking a Sweet Life. Be sure to check out her blog for a round-up of all the submissions on June 5th!

A big thank you goes out to Melissa for hosting a wonderful theme, and also to Zorra for starting this fun monthly event.

But you know, every day can be a bread baking day, right? =)

Tags: ,

14 Responses to “Lemon Blueberry Bread”

  1. Clara Leung Says:

    It makes me feeling very hungry even though I ate my dinner not long ago.
    We believe it is very good and you mom love blueberry very much.
    Thank you dear for your wonderful bread and look forward to have it.
    Mom and daddy

  2. toxobread Says:

    Awww, I’ll make it for your next visit for sure! Put it on your list ha ha

    ^_^

  3. em Says:

    Look at those lovely big blueberries baked in that yummy bread! I think I could totally eat that bread for breakfast, too🙂

  4. toxobread Says:

    Em, I was surprised by how big those blueberries looked too – they’re actually frozen wild blueberries from Costco! That being said, I think this recipe would be fantastic with just about any type of berry: cultivated blueberries, raspberries, blackberries… mmmm🙂
    – Jacqueline

  5. kettledrum Says:

    kettledrum says : I absolutely agree with this !

  6. Baking A Sweet Life » Blog Archive » Bread Baking Day #10 Roundup! Says:

    […] Blueberry Bread by Jacqueline (Vermont, […]

  7. Jude Says:

    Looks so light and fluffy. Nothing like a hit of antioxidants in the morning.

  8. toxobread Says:

    Hi Jude,

    The loaf came out with the slightest bit of crunch on the outside and yup, stayed light and fluffy inside. This would definitely be a great way to get a dose of antioxidants in the morning!

  9. zorra Says:

    Can there be a better start in the day…?🙂

  10. Susan/Wild Yeast Says:

    Lemon and blueberry anything sounds good to me! Beautiful.

  11. toxobread Says:

    Zorra – wow, what an honour for you to visit my little blog! I’m excited about participating in BreadBakingDays and this month’s “sprouted breads” theme is going to be a bit of a challenge for me. I’ve never sprouted anything before and don’t have a food processor or even a coffee grinder! But I’ll see what I can do.

  12. toxobread Says:

    Susan – an equal honour!!! I have to really thank you for encouraging me to start a blog after I sent you a submission for BreadBakingDay #8: Celebration Breads. I’m a big fan of your breads and love the YeastSpotting idea. I will try to have a yeast bread post up in time for next week’s rundown.

  13. zorra Says:

    I would like to have a slice of your bread right now!

  14. Bread Baking Day #10 Roundup! | Melissa LeRay Says:

    […] Blueberry Bread by Jacqueline (Vermont, […]

Leave a Reply

