Herb and cheese scones

These scones are dedicated to my friend, who doesn’t didn’t like scones.

R: I don’t like scones.

Me: What do you mean? How could you not like scones?

R: Well…

Me: Okay. I will bake scones for you to try and if you still don’t like them after that, I won’t bug you anymore.

At R’s request, I made savoury scones with herbs and sharp [Vermont!] cheddar cheese. This is a modified version of a basic scone recipe that I use for sweet scones (which I personally like more, but I’ll post about those another time).

R’s verdict?

Muchas gracias, muuuuy rico!

Herb and Cheese Scones

Recipe adapted from Grandma Johnson’s Scones on Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

– 1 cup sour cream
– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1 egg

– 4 cups all-purpose flour
– 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
– 2/3-3/4 cup butter, cut into small cubes (if you use the lesser amount, you may need to decrease the amount of flour used to achieve the same consistency)
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp Italian seasoning or 1/4 tsp each of basil, oregano, rosemary and thyme
– 1 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
– 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, blend the sour cream and baking soda, and set aside.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a large baking sheet. Alternatively, you could line the baking sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.
  3. In a large bowl, mix the flour, shredded cheese, herbs, ground black pepper, baking powder, cream of tartar, and salt. Cut in the butter (small pea-sized lumps are okay). Stir the sour cream mixture and egg into the flour mixture until just moistened. Do not overmix.
  4. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead briefly. Divide dough into two, and pat each portion into a 3/4 inch thick round. Cut each round into 8 wedges, and space scones evenly on the baking sheet.
  5. Bake 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown on the bottom. (I had to bake mine for slightly longer because I used a silicone mat on top of the baking sheet.)

Makes 16 small scones.

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Herb and cheese scones”

  1. em Says:

    Mmm. Looks really yummy! I love herb-and-cheese combinations, and I wish I could have that scone…yes, that one right there on my computer screen….
    I shy away from recipes calling for me to ‘cut in the butter’, but I’m a coward, lol.
    Awesome baking, Jackie, as always!😀

    P.S. First comment! woot

  2. toxobread Says:

    If there were any way I could USPS the scones to you, I would! Or maybe I’ll just make some next time I come visit. Probably fresher that way.

    Thanks, Em, for your support as always. You’re awesome!😀

  3. katy Says:

    I love scones! I even have this wacky conception that they’re kind of good for you.🙂 Those look wonderful!

  4. coco Says:

    Scones! I’ve always ogled at them but never make them. My list of things to make just goes on increasing. Herb and cheese scone sounds good.

  5. toxobread Says:

    Hi Coco,

    Scones are easier to make than they sound. I’ve seen a lot of recipes around but this one (Grandma Johnson’s Scones, see post for link) has worked well for me and you can play around with the ingredients (lemon zest & blueberries, raspberries and white chocolate chips, herb and cheese…) to adapt to your preferences.

    Let me know how they turn out if you have a chance to try them, and thanks for dropping by!

  6. not a winning combination « Toxo Bread Says:

    […] If you like scones, see also my [successful] experiment making herb and cheese scones. […]

  7. N Says:

    I found this and had to try your scones. They turned out so amazing. It was the first time I’ve ever made scones so I was super excited. Thanks so much!

    • toxobread Says:

      N, so glad you liked the scones! They’re so versatile and adaptable – you can put in pretty much any combination of “toppings” that you can think of!

Leave a Reply

