MBP – Fresh Strawberry Tart

Fresh strawberry tart

Recently, a friend invited me over to her place to make sticky rice dumplings (粽子). Being a baking fiend but not wanting to have the oven on at 350F for an inhumane period of time while I melted in my air conditioner-less apartment, I opted to make this easy and fresh strawberry tart. It’s based on Dorie Greenspan’s strawberry tart, which in turn was inspired by a tart from La Palette, a café in the center of the Saint-Germain des Pres’ gallery row in Paris.

Tuesdays with Dorie bakers will also recognize this tart from the time when Marie from A Year From Oak Cottage had hosted the event.

I’m submitting this strawberry tart to Monthly Blog Patrol (MBP), which is being hosted by Aparna of My Diverse Kitchen with the theme of “Fruit Fare.” MBP was started by Coffee of Spice Café; last month’s theme was “Less is More” and hosted by Nupur of One Hot Stove. The roundup of everyone who participated by searching through food blogs and cooking based on last month’s theme can be found here.

Fresh Strawberry Tart

Inspired by La Palette’s Strawberry Tart, as posted by Maya at My Feasts

– Strawberry jam
– One 9-inch tart shell
I used the same “foolproof” recipe as the one for my fresh fruit tart, but you can substitute it with your favourite sweet tart crust recipe.
– Ripe strawberries, hulled and halved, enough to fill the tart shell, i.e. about one quart
This recipe works well with very ripe berries. You can toss the berries with a bit of sugar if you think they’ll need it. I didn’t because I was adding chocolate to finish.
– About 1/4 cup chocolate chips, melted
– Sliced almonds, lightly toasted

Directions

Warm up the jam so it is easier to work with. You can do this by heating it in a microwave oven for a few seconds.

Spread the warmed jam onto the crust. You can also cut the portions of the crust first before this step and assemble each portion separately.

Fill the crust with the strawberries.

Melt the chocolate chips in a double boiler if you have one, or by gently heating at low power in the microwave oven. Drizzle on top of the strawberries. My plan was to get fancy, thin ribbons of chocolate, but in my excitement I cut the hole of a Ziploc bag too big and the chocolate came out in thick, oozing gobs. You’d be surprised how much chocolate can look like toothpaste, but I suppose it (the chocolate, not toothpaste) made the tart look more homemade and “rustic.”

Top with the sliced almonds, and enjoy a pretty, summer treat.

Zooming in on the fresh deliciousness of strawberries

Zooming in on the fresh deliciousness of strawberries

Note: I served slices of the tart quickly after it was assembled. If you want to make this ahead of time, keep the crust and strawberries separate and assemble along with the chocolate and almonds right before serving.

On variations: I liked the combination of fresh strawberries with chocolate and almonds. Next time, I want to try tossing the strawberries with lemon zest, or maybe some fresh basil or mint. The recipe is so simple and versatile it should also work for nearly any fruit you have on hand, such as peaches, berries, plums and pears.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “MBP – Fresh Strawberry Tart”

  1. em Says:

    Strawberries and chocolate!!! In a pie crust!!! Delicious.
    Your variations sound great; and this DOES sound like such a versatile recipe! Woo. We have lots of watermelon, though I don’t think a watermelon tart would hold up quite so well… lol! I’ll just EAT the watermelon on its own🙂

  2. toxobread Says:

    Watermelon! The other day I read about watermelon salsa, grilled watermelon (as in on the BBQ) and watermelon pepper jelly… so you never know.😀

  3. Aparna Says:

    Strawberries and chocolate is always a winning combination. And in a tart? Just great.
    Thanks for participating in MBP. Sorry I took so long to get here.:)

  4. Divya Says:

    That looks amazing! Ooey gooey chocolatey heaven! Nice entry

  5. Tina Says:

    woohoo for strawberries and chocolate..mmm…wonderful! Looks fantastic!

  6. toxobread Says:

    Hi Aparna,
    That’s okay. I’m sorry to hear about what happened to your computer but am glad that it’s up and running again. Thanks again for hosting MBP this month!

    Hi Divya and Tina,
    Thanks! The original recipe didn’t have chocolate, but I thought about the bag of chocolate chips in my cupboard begging to be melted and didn’t look back🙂

  7. Patricia Scarpin Says:

    That is a wonderful tart – I’m a sucker for anything strawberries and with almonds and chocolate… YUM!

  8. toxobread Says:

    Hi Patricia,
    I am a total sucker for any combination of strawberries, almonds and chocolate too. Thanks for dropping by my blog.🙂

  9. Chinese sticky rice dumplings (and flowers) « Toxo Bread Says:

    […] sticky rice dumplings (and flowers) I mentioned in my fresh strawberry tart post that I went over to a friend’s house to make Chinese sticky rice dumplings. These rice […]

Leave a Reply

