Sunsets and slightly burnt basil

I had a quiet but really nice weekend. Yesterday night, a bunch of friends and I went out to a restaurant called Tiny Thai for dinner to celebrate my birthday (which was today – well, oops, now technically yesterday). This morning, I declared it was “Baking Challah Day” and brought some freshly baked and oven-warm challah to the lab. There are no pictures, but I’ll write a post about challah… soon… but it was just the way I like it, pulled apart with my hands, with the loaf’s inside being pillowy soft and the bottom with a slightly crisp crust. Isn’t that the best way to enjoy bread? ^_^

Since fall is slowly starting to creep its way here, I walked down to the waterfront and take some photos of the sunset. Unfortunately, weather.com predicted the sunset at 7:15 p.m. and I think I got there a tad too late to get the best of the colours:

I didn’t use a tripod for the last two photos, by the way. I lucked out by placing the camera on a concrete post that served as railing so people don’t topple over into Lake Champlain. Otherwise, the lighting was too dim to have taken anything this sharp with my shaky, shaky hands.

Methinks I should definitely do some sunset-shooting again before the weather turns chilly permanently.

By the time I returned home, I didn’t really feel like anything too fancy and opted to make a quick pizza instead. No recipe this time… just more photos.

A thawed whole wheat pizza crust with basil pesto, fresh tomato, chopped fresh basil and extra sharp cheddar (ran out of mozzarella).

A thawed whole wheat pizza crust with basil pesto, fresh tomato, chopped fresh basil and extra sharp cheddar (I ran out of mozzarella).

Pop in a preheated oven, pretty much as hot as it will go (~475F), until the cheese melts and becomes bubbly.

Pop in a preheated oven, pretty much as hot as it will go (~475F), until the cheese melts and becomes bubbly.

top your basil with cheese so it doesn't burn! I was too lazy and should have shredded the cheese to get better basil coverage. Or, you can add the basil after you take the pizza out of the oven.

Pizza rookie mistake: basil burns if you don't cover it with something, like cheese! I was lazy and should have shredded the cheddar to get better basil coverage. Or, I could have sprinkled the basil on *after* taking the pizza out of the oven.

What a weekend! Baking the way a baking fiend likes to bake, relaxing, and best of all, enjoying some time and great food with my wonderful friends.

p.s. Oh, and happy mid-autumn festival – 中秋節快樂!I hope you had lots of mooncake, mmm.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Sunsets and slightly burnt basil”

  1. Clara Leung Says:

    Wow! what a beautiful photo at the waterfront, weather was cold?
    Pizza looks yummy too, make us hungry now.

    Take care and add a jacket early in the morning.

    Fall is here.

    Good night, sweetie.

    Mom & dad

  2. bentcrude Says:

    yum

  3. em Says:

    I love sunsets. I’m glad you are able to not be a bitter grad student, and you are keeping your priorities straight! I admire that about you and I should learn from you, Jackie. Must have more fun doing things I love🙂

    P.S. Srsly, don’t forget that jacket. Mornings are chilllayyyy!! (er…chilly)

  4. toxobread Says:

    Heh heh, bitter? Not me…😉
    This week has been hectic at work, which is why I have virtually disappeared and neglected Toxo Bread. This weekend is making up for it with lots of baking and hopefully some posting tonight.
    p.s. Take care in the chilly weather too =)

Leave a Reply

