Bounty from the Farmer’s Market

The summer is nearly over and I have neglected to tell you about my weekly Farmer’s Market adventures! Every Saturday, local farmers and artisans sell their produce and special crafts in the Burlington City Hall Park – by produce and special crafts, I mean pretty much everything that’s in season: fresh herbs, squashes, tomatoes (including heirloom tomatoes), beans, artichokes, greens, eggs, flowers, honey, and, bakery style bread, apples, cheese and maple syrup because after all, I do live in Vermont.

It’s equally nice to walk around and enjoy the scene. I usually make a beeline to the Panadero stand for breakfast. Panadero is a local bakery known for its bread, croissants (savoury and sweet) and tarts. I am a fan of the chocolate and almond croissant. One day, I will remember to take a picture of it before digging in like I’ve never had a croissant before.

The fig (left) and blueberry (right) tarts from Panadero.

The fig (left) and blueberry (right) tarts from Panadero.

There is a wide variety of greens available at the farm stands, including many different kinds of lettuce, spinach, kale, arugula, mesclun, endive and cabbage.

A closeup of kale

A closeup of kale

Then there’s the herbs:

Cilantro (coriander)

Cilantro (coriander)

So lunch is inspired by what I find at the farmer’s market with some supplements from the grocery store.

Start with a loaf of rye from the Adams Village Bakery stand (gorgeous crust!)

Start with a loaf of rye from the Adams Village Bakery stand (gorgeous crust!)

Add some arugula (rocket, rucola), slices of mozzarella cheese,

Don't forget the tomatoes

Don't forget the tomatoes

...and enjoy

...and enjoy

I’ve also tried the cinnamon raisin loaf from Adams Village Bakery. It’s not the typical sweet, enriched bread with a cinnamon raisin swirl; rather, think of a sourdough that happens to be accented with cinnamon and raisins.

Here a rustic-looking cinnamon raisin boule

Here's a rustic-looking cinnamon raisin boule

Like the crust, the crumb is fairly dense and chewy.

Like the crust, the crumb is fairly dense and chewy.

So yes, in case you’re wondering, I do buy bread from time to time. =)

Also in case you’re wondering, I don’t buy as much as I’d like to buy from the farmer’s market. I think it’s fantastic to support local food and it seems to taste better than store-bought, but I am a graduate student with a graduate student budget. Most of the time I prefer to splurge on powdered gold flour and other baking needs, but every now and then there’s something at the market that really is worth it. Try it, and you may be pleasantly surprised.

Burlington Farmer’s Market
City Hall Park
Saturdays, 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Panadero
203 North Winooski Avenue
Burlington, VT
(802) 863-8278

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Bounty from the Farmer’s Market”

  1. Donna Says:

    Hey There!
    I just wanted to say hi! I lived in Vermont for 10 years before sailing of into the sunset down the Champlain Canal. We ended up in RI and have been here for 4 years now. All the rest of my family lives in Vermont around the Burlington area. I know the farmers’ market well! We had a stand for 8 years! I miss Vermont something awful, especially the organic produce, health food stores like Healthy Living and Middlebury Coop. But we do visit often and stock up before we leave!

    I found your blog through Food Gawker. Your photo is right next to my cupcakes! Come on over and say HI! I’ll bet we have a lot of Vermont in common!

    Donna @ Spatulas & Corkscrews

  2. Clara Leung Says:

    Hi Dear,

    I saw Donna response at above, it is amazing to have someone lived
    close by and say Hi.
    I like the bread and looks very tasty.
    Vegetable looks fresh even I can smell them.

    When the farmer market will close for this year?

    Mom

  3. toxobread Says:

    Hi Donna,
    I just have to say that it’s the coolest surprise ever, to have a ‘neighbour’ visit my blog AND for us to be posted right next to each other on Food Gawker! p.s. loving the chocolate chip zucchini cupcakes with the cream cheese frosting

  4. toxobread Says:

    Hi Mom,
    Yes, I wish I took more photos of farmer’s market goods to post – ha ha maybe a little project for this Saturday.
    The Burlington Farmer’s Market is held every Saturday through October, I think… so when you and Dad come to visit next month maybe you come with me!

  5. em Says:

    That is one HECK of a sandwich! YUMMMAYY.
    I wish I knew where the farmer’s markets were in the Tdot. I think they’re probably like really close to campus or something. haha.
    Does Kensington count?:\

  6. toxobread Says:

    Hey Em!
    There was a farmer’s market downtown at Nathan Phillips Square that we used to visit during the summer, when I worked at SickKids. I found this: http://www.blogto.com/toronto/the_best_farmers_markets_in_toronto/ that might help you next summer.
    p.s. and yes, Kensington and St. Lawrence Market both count!

Leave a Reply

