Welcome to Vermont

I sat near the front of the bus on my way back from grocery shopping this afternoon, and happened to hear this conversation:

Bus driver: Hello, there. How are you?
Passenger boarding the bus: Cold!
Bus driver: Well, sir, welcome to Vermont!

…and they grin at each other.

It’s been getting more and more chilly these days. Even though I “come from the North” <insert joke about my being Canadian here>, I have to say that “green mountain” winds are quite nippy. If it’s winter where you are living, remember to dress warmly and take good care of yourself in this cold weather.🙂

I received several enthusiastic comments for my last post about chocolate in bread, so here are more photos of chocolate baked goods to ogle. This is a pain au chocolat (chocolate croissant) that I bought from Panadero for breakfast a little while ago. Brilliantly flaky pastry enveloping fine quality chocolate… for breakfast. Ooooooh yeah.

Pain au chocolat from Panadero

Pain au chocolat from Panadero

Delicious innards of pain au chocolat

Delicious innards of pain au chocolat

Si vous voulez un pain au chocolat:

Panadero
203 North Winooski Avenue
Burlington, VT
(802) 863-8278

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Welcome to Vermont”

  1. chopchopatoz Says:

    uhm yum yum🙂 Chocolate is always a hit at any season, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. em Says:

    Ooh, that reminds me of those awesome chocolate croissants from Michel’s Baguette (or whatever the name of that shopping mall ‘restaurant/bakery’ is called). Good times.

    I LOVE WINTER! IN TORONTO! You miss it, don’t you? It misses you, Jackie. I miss you too!🙂

  3. toxobread Says:

    Van: Yup!

    Em: Where was this Michel’s Baguette and its awesome chocolate croissants? I don’t remember, grrr I don’t remember anything about awesome chocolate croissants in Toronto.

    and yes ha ha I love winter (in Toronto as well as in Vermont) and I miss you too🙂 [sends hugs]

  4. Tigger Says:

    Stay warm, my dearest …. looking forward to see you in Christmas

  5. toxobread Says:

    Hi Dad: you too (and Mom and Sam)!

  6. MyKitchenInHalfCups Says:

    Gosh I love that your dad leaves you comments! I sometimes dream that my mom leaves me comments. I think she would if she were around.
    Sorry see this is where I just can’t put chocolate. Tartlette would throw me out for that so don’t tell.

  7. toxobread Says:

    Tanna: hehe my parents subscribe to my blog via FeedBurner so they can keep track of what cooking/baking mischief I’ve been up to😉
    I like chocolate too, but also only in certain things. Either way, pastry makes a great breakfast or treat, yes? (and no, I won’t tell Tartelette. Your secret is safe with me.)

  8. em Says:

    The baguettes at Michel’s used to be better (pre-2000). Apparently they changed management in 2000 or so. Now, I suppose they’re not bad, but I don’t know if I’d still call them awesome. Sigh. The world of business sucks😦

Leave a Reply

