Chewy coconut cookies

Chewy coconut cookies

Chewy coconut cookies

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. Our lab’s biggest research grant just got submitted yesterday so the past few weeks have been wild, in the most scientific way that word implies.

My mom forwarded a cookie recipe that some of her colleagues had tried. At first I was a little apprehensive about coconut cookies, but these are pretty addictive. I went a little on the underbaked side to make sure I didn’t overbake and turn them into a crispy, instead of chewy, cookie.

Chewy coconut cookies

From AllRecipes.com

Ingredients

– 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
– 1/2 cup brown sugar*
– 1/2 cup white sugar*
– 1 egg, at room temperature
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 1/3 cups flaked coconut

*The only flaked coconut I could find was sweetened, and very much so, so I only used a stingy 1/2 cup each of the brown and white sugar. The cookies were still a tad sweet for my taste and I will probably reduce the sugar even more next time.

Directions

1. Combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt) in a small bowl.

2. In a medium bowl, cream the butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg and vanilla until light and fluffy. Gradually blend in the flour mixture and then mix in the flaked coconut. It will seem too dry at first but everything will come together in a butterscotch-coloured cookie dough.

3. Drop cookie dough by teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet. These spread substantially so adjust accordingly.

4. Bake in a preheated 350F oven for 8 to 10 minutes, or just until the edges are lightly toasted and the middle doesn’t seem overly gooey (I baked them closer to 8 minutes). Cool on wire racks.

See, the recipe makes more than 11 cookies but by the time I got back into the kitchen with the camera...

See, the recipe makes more than 11 cookies but by the time I got back into the kitchen with the camera...

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Chewy coconut cookies”

  1. macie Says:

    I noticed some coconut flakes in my pantry the other day… now I know what to do with them!

    • toxobread Says:

      Macie: yes! Let me know how it goes if you have a chance to try baking these cookies.🙂

      Em: I’m not a cookie expert by any means, heh. From what I’ve heard, the more brown sugar and margarine a recipe has, the chewier it will be (white sugar and butter tend to make cookies crispier) but the “holy grail” is to make cookies slightly crispy on the edges, and chewy in the middle. Also remember not to overbake them because they’ll continue to bake a little after you take them out of the oven. That said, I think what makes these coconut cookies chewy is a combination of the sugar and the moistness from the flaked coconut. (Does that help?)

  2. em Says:

    Chewy cookies! They look awesome!!🙂
    I wonder if somehow the chewiness of the cookie recipe could be retained and the coconut could be substituted with chocolate chips? Or maybe chewy choco chip cookies have a different cookie base. Haha can you tell I’ve never made cookies from scratch?
    Oh and glad your lab’s crunch time is over. Keeping my fingers crossed for you guys🙂

  3. Jie Jie Says:

    It looks yummy and it makes me to get my own done.

    • toxobread Says:

      Jie Jie: you should give it a try! 哥哥 can help you out – he’s made them before with me, as you have as well.🙂

Leave a Reply

