Maple syrup!

(Yup, playing more catch up)

A while back, many places in Vermont participated in the Maple Open House Weekend where there was much celebrating of spring and sweet sap flowing through tree veins, which led to maple syrup flowing through my veins. Yum.

Since this was also the same weekend that my parents came to visit, we decided to spend the day at Shelburne Farms, which as you will see, had many farm animals in addition to delicious maple syrup. I’ve also discovered that I’m in love with sheep, big sheep and little sheep (lambs) alike.

*Note: I took a few photos of other visitors that day. If I took a photo of you and you’d rather it not be shown on this blog, please let me know and I will remove it. Thanks!*

Shelburne Farms

Shelburne Farms

This dog was in the driver's seat of a car. The look on its face is killing me.

This dog was in the driver's seat of a car. The look on its face is killing me.

p3280013

Caution! Children. (What?)

Caution! Children. (What?)

Look at this smiling sheep! I'm a goner.

Smiling sheep! I'm a goner.

Part of the gang

Part of the gang

Freckles the llama, who helps look after the sheep.

Freckles the llama, who helps look after the sheep.

More smiling sheep

More smiling sheep. So I do realize that these sheep aren't actually "smiling," but it seems like they are to me. I smile when the aroma of maple syrup is in the air. Maybe sheep do too.

p3280040

Little children petting little lambs equals over the top cuteness

Little children petting little lambs equals over the top cuteness

p3280042

p3280044

p3280047

p3280050

Time to feed the lambs

Time to feed the lambs

and the lambs totally know it

and the lambs totally know it

Milk? Milk! Miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiilk!

Milk? Milk! Miiiiiiiiiiiiiiilk!

Milk!

I

p3280059

love

my milk.

my milk.

These shots, while nowhere as good, remind me of this post from Pioneer Woman.

p3280061

and now, a bit of the rest of Shelburne Farms

and now, a bit of the rest of Shelburne Farms

p3280065

p3280066

p3280067

“But where’s all the maple syrup? You began the post with something about the deliciousness of maple syrup and 25 photos later, there’s still NOTHING about maple syrup.”

Sorry about that. I got caught up with all of the cuteness.

On to the maple syrup.

Boiling the sap to make syrup

Boiling the sap to make syrup

Ah, here we go! A spoonful of newly made maple syrup. Mmmmm

Ah, here we go! A spoonful of newly made maple syrup. Mmmmm, liquid goodness, I'll say.

Shelburne Farms had a contest that weekend where you had to hunt for “tree cookies” (discs of wood): wooden (naturally) coloured discs got you maple candy, silver cookies got you maple sugar, and gold cookies got you half a pint of maple syrup.

p3280077

So we looked

and looked...

and looked...

and found a tree cookie!

and found a tree cookie!

and then we looked some more but had no luck with the gold cookie ha ha, so we got ourselves little bottles of maple syrup instead.

Then we looked some more but had no luck with the gold cookie ha ha, so we got ourselves little bottles of maple syrup instead.

Another look at Shelburne Farms

Another look at Shelburne Farms

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Maple syrup!”

  1. em Says:

    Sounds like an awesome time! Mm maple syrup. Glad they were having that event when your parents visited🙂
    You think the sheep look like they’re smiling? That’s not bad at all…compared to me, who thinks that those adult sheep look like they’re 1) smiling, and 2) Asian.
    :p

  2. toxobread Says:

    Em: HAHAHA okay yup, they do look sort of Asian and smiling –__– ;P

  3. Memoria Says:

    I thought about PW when i saw the sheep feeding on milk, too! Even before I saw what you wrote haha.

    I bet that syrup is amazing. I would make pancakes every day, if I had that stuff.

  4. Macie Says:

    The look on that dog’s face is PRICELESS! What a great photo! It looks like a wonderful farm😀

Leave a Reply

