they just keep growin’

20090504scallions

Bear with me if this is old news.

I read somewhere (and have forgotten where, sorry!) that if you’re using scallions, save the white bulbous part to grow your own. Simply stick it in a jar of water, let it soak up some sunlight, and you’ll never have to buy scallions ever again.

Seriously.

See the photo above? I ran a little experiment where I snipped off all the green for fried rice and left the white bulb — roots intact — in a jar of water on my kitchen table. This is what the bunch of scallions looked like a mere five days later and many inches taller! You can even see a new green shoot beginning to form (sorry, this isn’t the correct terminology but you know what I mean).

This is from one bunch.

I have five more sitting in the fridge. Say I put all of those white bulbs in jars of water to grow, and grow, and grow… and these babies might just take over my kitchen. I could churn out bowls of fried rice, scallion buns, omelettes with scallions, baked potatoes topped with scallions, loaves of baked potato bread with scallions, just to keep them in check.

Maybe I’ll have to start eating them with my cereal for breakfast.

[Got any recipes that use scallions? Let me know!]

Tags:

7 Responses to “they just keep growin’”

  1. sara Says:

    So cool! I will definitely have to try this. 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Jie Jie Says:

    It is so cute and I will try to do this.

  3. em Says:

    That’s cool! Except if i grew those at home, we wouldn’t use it in time, definitely.

    SCALLION PANCAKES.

  4. toxobread Says:

    Jie Jie: do give it a try! Or you know, you could just plant them in the backyard too, where the chives and green onions used to be.

    Em: yeah I have no idea what to do with so much scallions… even after I give scallion pancakes a go… -_-

  5. Macie Says:

    Wow, that’s really cool! I rarely use scallions, but only because I never have them around. I’ll have to try this 😀

    • toxobread Says:

      Macie: cool is right! They also grow like they’re on a growth spurt, all the time. Considering they’re just white bulbs with all the green lopped off, sitting in a rinsed-out jam jar of tap water, I’d say that was impressive indeed.

Leave a comment