meet my new friend, Bud

2009.06.05AmishFriendshipBread

…erm, more like millions of Buds.

“Hey Jackie! I need your help in a baking experiment!”

Sure!

“It involves yeast, too.”

Yessssssssss!

So there you have it, Amish Sweet Friendship Bread, Day One (of Ten). So I guess I’ve just received a starter? All day when I was actually in the lab, I would make little trips to the lunchroom to peek at my new yeasty friends. Unfortunately, they’re bubbly but not terribly photogenic.

2009.06.05AmishFriendshipBread02

I got home in the evening and set Bud on my kitchen counter, had dinner and proceeded to do some work. The entire time, I was thinking about how to take care of Bud – was he happy in the one-gallon Ziploc bag? He was certainly very gassy. Maybe I should transfer him to a mason jar that I “kept forgetting” to return to someone since December (I knew I kept forgetting for a reason).

Okay, done.

A new home for Bud

Maybe I should put him in the fridge seeing as I feed him (well, my friend fed him) milk on Day 6. Maybe I’m just more sensitive to these things because I was trained as a microbiologist but I’m slightly nervous about something that has milk in it, sitting out on a counter for four days.

Maybe I should treat him like a sourdough starter and feed him flour and water — by weight! — instead of flour and milk on Day 6.

Or maybe I should quit being so motherly already; I’m going to smother him with all the fussing.

Brewster thinks he, given some time, might just be able to get along with Bud.

Brewster thinks that, given the time, he might just be able to get along with Bud.

Oh, one more thing: on Day 10, I’m supposed to give Bud-the-next-generation to three lucky friends. Let me know if you’re interested. (Not all at once now.)

* * *

Amish Sweet Friendship Bread, Jackie’s Way

started 06/05/09

Day 1     Do nothing with starter Degas starter (mash bag) and transfer to a clean mason jar with the lid loosely screwed on.
Day 2     Mash bag and let out air
Day 3     ” ”
Day 4     ” ”
Day 5     ” ”
Day 6     Add 1 cup flour & 1 cup milk and mash bag
Day 7     Mash bag and let out air
Day 8     ” ”
Day 9     ” ”

Day 10  Add 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk. Stir. Take out 3 cups and place 1 cup each into 3 separate 1 gallon bags. Give one bag and a copy of instructions to three friends.

To the balance, add and mix 1 cup oil, 1/2 cup milk, 3 eggs and 1 tsp vanilla.

In a separate bowl combine and mix: 2 cups flour (opt. 1 cup white and 1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour), 1 cup sugar, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt and 1 box instant vanilla pudding mix.

Combine wet and dry ingredients and mix well. Pour into 2 well-greased, sugared bread pans.

Bake at 325F for 1 hour.

A note on my copy says: I added some dried cranberries to mine.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

