BBD#21 – Pizza!

Time for a pizza party!

This month marks the two-year anniversary of Bread Baking Day, so Zorra, the founder of BBD and this month’s host, decided to throw a pizza party:

BBD21

Since she asked us to pay special attention to the crust, I wanted to try making one with sourdough because that’s what happens when you feel adventurous and still not quite  over the excitement of making your very first loaf of sourdough.

Here we are:

2009.06.30Pizza01

The sourdough crust was topped simply with a bit of tomato sauce, monterey jack and fresh basil. You can see the crust got nice and puffy in spots (and it tasted great!) but the cheese separated at the high baking temperature (as high as your oven can go, until toppings get bubbly and crust is golden brown) so there were puddles of oil in places, which in turn made the basil turn dark. Next time, I’m going to remember to pick up some fresh mozzarella instead of resorting to whatever brick of cheese I have at home.

Did I mention the crust was delicious?

This photo reminds me of pancakes.

This photo reminds me of pancakes.

Still lots of room for improvement, but I like to think I’ve come a long way from heating up Boboli crusts for homemade pizza.

Update: the roundup has been posted!

* * *

I’m sending this pizza (pie?) to Zorra of 1x umrühren bitte for BBD#21 and Susan at Wild Yeast for YeastSpotting.

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “BBD#21 – Pizza!”

  1. Foolish Poolish Says:

    Great looking pizza! The crust browned up a treat. Nicely done.
    FP

    • toxobread Says:

      Thanks, FP! Despite the warm weather we’re having these days, I can’t wait to give pizza another go soon!

  2. YeastSpotting July 3, 2009 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] Pizza with a Sourdough Crust […]

  3. zorra Says:

    I can see you have the Pizza fever now! 😉

    I have the problem with the cheese too, so I’m adding it later (the last 5 minutes).

  4. elra Says:

    Sourdough Pizza is very new to me. Sounds really tempting though.

  5. toxobread Says:

    Zorra: oh, I did not think of that (adding the cheese towards the end of the baking time). Thanks for the tip! I’m going to try that next time.

    Elra: it would be a tasty way to use “discard” and since it bakes so quickly, you won’t have to keep the oven on for too long. 🙂

  6. mangiachetefabene Says:

    I loved the pizza, even with the cheese splitted…Can you send me the dough recipe?
    Thanks!

Leave a comment