Classic Cranberry Nut Bread

Cranberry Nut Bread

Cranberry Nut Bread

First things first, though: Andrea from Cooking Books gave me the Kreativ Blogger award and tagged me with the Seven Things meme! Be prepared to read a lot of very random things about me.

kreativ_blogger_award

Number 1:

Seven Things I Say Most Often
1. Awesome!
2. Bummer.
3. I’m going to bake.
4. I need to update my blog.
5. Um, good luck with that.
6. 點呀?
7. I need to update my lab notebook. -_-

Number 2:

Seven Things I Did Before
1. I took ballet lessons, and I was quite good at it. Seriously.
2. I’ve broke, my glasses. Twice in less than a month. Guess I was good at that too.
3. Found homes for 42 homeless bettas (7 of which I ended up personally adopting).
4. Kicked butt in Super Mario, Donkey Kong Country and Crash Bandicoot. Old school, but so classic!
5. Go on driving trips with a really good camera and just snap away (I wasn’t the one driving, of course).
6. Underbake things.
7. Overbake things.

Number 3:

Seven Things I Do Now
1. The darn very rewarding Ph.D. Alright so it still is fun and I’m still loving it.
2. Cook and bake! This is coming from a girl who could barely cook or bake a year and a half ago.
3. Stalk foodgawker.com and cakewrecks.blogspot.com
4. Work hard but also try to enjoy life?
5. Explore local bakeries and hidden dining gems.
6. Underbake things. But now I actually put them back in the oven and watch very carefully, in case I…
7. Overbake things. At least they’re still edible these days.

Number 4:

Seven Things I Want to Do
1.  Ph.D. Enough said.
2.  Travel.
3.  Read more. Not only scientific papers, but also for fun.
4.  Bake a tart, from scratch (including a *real* pastry crust).
5.  Bake biscotti for my mom.
6.  Bake the perfect loaf of bread.
7.  …Bake?
So many things bookmarked, so little time.

Number 6:

Seven Favorite Foods
1.  Apple pie. Apple anything.
2.  Cardamom
3.  Challah, or all bread for that matter. Give Jackie bread, and Jackie will demolish.
4.  Fresh ginger
5.  Tomato and eggs on rice. It’s a comfort food thing.
6.  Perfectly ripe fruit with dark chocolate or good cheese
7.  Pasta

Number 7:

Seven People I’m Tagging
*I’ve had a quick look around and many people have already been tagged for this. So, if you’re reading this and you haven’t been tagged yet, consider yourself tagged! 🙂

* * *

Now back to the bread.

I haven’t baked a quick bread (leavened with baking soda and baking powder, instead of yeast) in a while, but Susan at Wild Yeast posted the classic cranberry nut bread from the back of the Ocean Spray bag. “Bake me into a loaf of  cranberry nut bread!” cried the rest of my [first] bag of fresh cranberries. How could I not?

Classic Cranberry Nut Bread

From the back of the Ocean Spray bag, or from here

Ingredients

– 2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1 cup sugar (this may seem like a lot, but we’re talking fresh and assertively tart cranberries here)
– 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 3/4 cup orange juice
– 1 tbsp grated orange peel (didn’t have this on hand but it would have been a nice addition)
– 2 tbsp vegetable oil (bag says vegetable oil, website says shortening; bag wins)
– 1 egg, well beaten
– 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries, coarsely chopped
– 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used lightly toasted walnuts, put them into a Ziploc bag and used a rolling pin to break them up into little pieces)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan.

Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a medium mixing bowl. Stir in orange juice, orange peel, vegetable oil and beaten egg. Mix until well blended. Stir in cranberries and nuts. Spread evenly in loaf pan.

Bake for 55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a rack or enjoy while it’s still slightly warm. Wrap in plastic wrap to keep it fresh, and note that like many quick breads, this freezes well.

* * *

20081210-cranberrynutbread02

Want a slice? ^_^

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Classic Cranberry Nut Bread”

  1. em Says:

    Quick bread ftw /
    lol. Don’t be made at me for that! I’m not as skilled at baking and cannot (yet?) use actual yeast…
    But that loaf looks yummy! How did the cranberries taste with the walnuts?

    btw, my computer has a stupid low-damage but VERY ANNOYING virus :*(
    and I need to clean it WHILE I’m cramming for exams. So distracting!

    So is it for sure you’ve got to stay in VT over the holidays?

  2. em Says:

    P.S. I meant to say “MAD at me for that”
    P.P.S. Any thoughts on diabetic-suitable recipes for breads/baked desserts? And I really don’t want to use Splenda…

  3. toxobread Says:

    Cranberries + toasted walnuts was doubleplusWIN. I’m thinking pecans and almonds would be great too 😀

    Sorry to hear about your computer’s viral infection. That *is* a pain, especially when you’re trying to focus and get all the studying done!

    I’ll be staying in VT for Christmas but will head back for the New Year, so heading back late, but still coming back.

  4. chopchopatoz Says:

    It is fun to read your Seventhings and good to know you, too 🙂 Wish you good luck and get your PH.D soon! What is your subject?

  5. Jude Says:

    Somehow I get the feeling that cookbooks are unnecessary and the best recipes are on the labels of products we buy.

  6. toxobread Says:

    Van: ha ha I just started graduate school so it will be a very long time before I get my PhD 😛 I’m studying the cell biology and host-pathogen interactions of a parasite called Toxoplasma gondii – see my first post. That’s why this blog is affectionately named “Toxo Bread.”

    Jude: some of the best, but recipes from the back of the bag aren’t the only ones (although I do think they’re pretty awesome and should not be looked down upon). I’ve yet to see a recipe for pane al cioccolato off the back of a bag, mmmmm.

  7. Andrea Says:

    Yum cranberry bread! I’m glad you got to do the meme. Now I know we both want to read more for fun (will that ever happen?)

  8. Carolyn Says:

    J!!! Your blog is awesome… It totally inspired me to do some holiday baking over the weekend =) When are you coming back?

  9. toxobread Says:

    Andrea: I surely hope to get some serious reading done soon, as in this upcoming holiday!

    Carolyn: mrlaaaaah! It’s awesome that you dropped by my blog! I’m glad that it inspired you to do some holiday baking heh heh – as you can see, I still have yet to attempt biscotti -_-

  10. Kevin Says:

    Nice looking cranberry bread!

  11. chopchopatoz Says:

    [toxobread Says:
    December 16, 2008 at 2:21 pm
    Van: ha ha I just started graduate school so it will be a very long time before I get my PhD 😛 I’m studying the cell biology and host-pathogen interactions of a parasite called Toxoplasma gondii – see my first post. That’s why this blog is affectionately named “Toxo Bread.”]

    Great! Sorry that I missed your reply.

Leave a comment