Crustless vs. crusty bread

Alright, so the “back in the saddle” declaration in my previous post was a bit premature.

I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get this blog up and running again; I have been baking (it keeps me sane) but just never seemed to find a moment to write the actual posts. So, instead of making any promises (…) I’ll just keep this one short and sweet.

I found out about this publication on crustless bread from Susanfnp‘s Twitter (for the record, she noted: “Or perhaps they could bake #RealBread with proper crusts instead of what I see as clammy, rubbery skins”).

Okay, so I grew up on Wonder Bread, but now I most definitely prefer this:

Five-grain levain

and this:

Five-grain levain

Both are ~1kg versions of Hamelman’s five-grain levain, which I’m addicted to (really). Crumb shot for the first loaf:

Five-grain levain: crumb

***

I’m sending these relatively boldly baked, crusty loaves to Susan at Wild Yeast for YeastSpotting.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Crustless vs. crusty bread”

  1. Jie Jie Says:

    It looks very pretty and should be good to eat with soup, right?

  2. YeastSpotting 7.9.10 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] Five-Grain Levain […]

  3. Mimi Says:

    I can see why you prefer that to wonder bread. Those loaves are a thing of beauty!

  4. Stefanie Says:

    The thought of crustless bread gives me goose bumps! For me a nice and crispy crust one of the most important things in a bread! So your bread is absolutly the kind of bread of love!

    • toxobread Says:

      Stefanie: yes, I adore a crispy crust as well – it’s bold bakes for me! Thank you also for the kind comment. I’m a fan of your bakes too 🙂

  5. Elra Says:

    Such a beautiful and perfect bread 🙂

Leave a comment