Ginger Pumpkin Braid

Ginger Pumpkin Braid

Back in the saddle!

I’m sorry it’s been such a long, long time. This semester was a whirlwind of teaching, research, writing, experiments and lots of data analysis; although most of that is now done and the manuscript has gone back to the journal for publication (woohoo!), I’m still scrambling to catch up with other requirements for graduate school. For example, my first thesis committee meeting (gulp). Another would be the requirement-that-must-not-be-named (gulp gulp).

So that’s the past four months of my life summarized in a few sentences – exciting stuff if you’re a science geek like me (although I am pretty envious of those who are taking intensive baking courses at SFBI!) but nothing about bread. Where is the bread? I’ve been baking erratically and now the photos are stockpiling in my folder, begging to be posted. Hopefully I’ll be able to resume a more regular frequency of posting shortly because I’m really excited to share these latest baking adventures with you.

This is a ginger pumpkin braid that spawned from a lonely can of solid pack pumpkin in my cupboard. It’s a hearty, pumpkiny loaf spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom and ginger, and is a festive addition to any dinner table. Or dessert table, for that matter. In fact, I made a variation of this for Netter’s birthday: I added cream cheese filling from the Blueberry Cream Cheese Braid and topped that with thinly sliced apples that had been lightly cooked. The spices, pumpkin, cream cheese and apple were a fantastic combination. (Happy birthday, Netter!)

Ginger Pumpkin Braid

Adapted from King Arthur Flour’s Ginger Pumpkin Braid based on what I had on hand.

Makes two braids.

Ingredients

– 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
– 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
– 1 tsp ground cinnamon
– 1 1/4 tsp ground ginger
– 1/4 tsp ground cardamom
– 1/3 cup brown sugar
– 2 tbsp grated fresh ginger*
– 1 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 tbsp instant yeast
– 1 3/4 cups pumpkin: if you’re using canned pumpkin, buy the solid pack pumpkin, not pumpkin pie filling.
– 2 eggs
– 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, softened
– pearl sugar, for topping

*The original recipe calls for diced candied ginger and raisins. Add those in too if you like!

Directions

  1. Mixing: in a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, spices, sugar, ginger, salt and yeast, mixing until everything is well-distributed. In a separate bowl, stir together the pumpkin, eggs and softened butter until well-combined. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, stirring until the dough begins to pull away from the sides of the bowl. Knead (by hand or by mixer) for 2-3 minutes, cover and allow it to rest for 15-20 minutes, and then continue kneading until smooth. Add flour sparingly to adjust the hydration (wetness), but know that the dough will be slightly on the sticky side. If you’re using raisins, add them in at this point and continue kneading just until they’re incorporated.
  2. Bulk fermentation: transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth or plastic wrap, and set it aside to rise until approximately doubled in bulk, around 1 to 1 1/2 hours.
  3. Shaping: For the braid, divide the dough in half and then divide each half into three pieces. Roll each piece into a ~10-inch long rope. Use three pieces to make one braid. For the cream cheese and apple variation, follow the steps shown here. Place shaped loaves on a lightly greased or parchment paper-lined baking sheet and cover with a damp cloth or plastic wrap.
  4. Final proof: about 1 hour, until puffy but not necessarily doubled in bulk.
  5. Baking: If desired, brush loaves lightly with water and top with pearl sugar. Bake in a preheated 375°F oven for 20-25 minutes, rotating pans halfway through, until lightly browned. Remove the braids from the oven and allow them to cool on a wire rack.

If you’ve got any leftover, how about some French toast?

French toast with ginger pumpkin braid! You'll notice that the crumb is a lot less golden-coloured than the first photo. That's because I used only all-purpose flour for this loaf before deciding to try the whole wheat:all-purpose combination (and ended up liking this better).

* * *

I’m sending this loaf to Susan at Wild Yeast for YeastSpotting.

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Ginger Pumpkin Braid”

  1. YeastSpotting Holiday 2009 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] Ginger Pumpkin Braid […]

  2. Joanne Says:

    This looks so delicious! I love pumpkin flavored baked goods, especially with all of these great spices. The blueberry cream cheese filling must have been amazing.

    • toxobread Says:

      Thanks, Joanne! I’m a big fan of baked goods with pumpkin in them too, and really liked the pumpkin, apple, spices and cream cheese combination. Definitely a winner in my books!

  3. Andrea Says:

    I hear ya, girl. Grad school can be no fun. Speaking of fun, though, is there anything better in this world than pumpkin and ginger? Certainly not. Good luck with everything!

  4. toxobread Says:

    Thanks for the support, Andrea – I imagine that it can get pretty crazy for you too!
    I do love the combination of pumpkin and ginger. 🙂

  5. Will Shim Says:

    Hey Jackie, I haven’t seen any new inputs in your blog. Is school getting too busy for ya? I’m crazily busy these days as well. Anyway, I’m taking a course in Montreal -I think I told you about that on our last encounter with Pat- and my labmates wouldn’t stop yapping about baking this and baking that while driving to there from Ottawa the other day, so I sent them to your blog here. I’m hoping they’ll bake something really nice and bring it to me! Now, that would be really wonderful! (I’d bake some myself but I just don’t have time!)
    Cheers! summer is coming! Keep on baking!

  6. Foy Update - Cook. Garden. Write. Repeat. Says:

    I had to check out your blog after you left such an interesting comment on mine about steel cut oats. I’ll have to try them. If it fails I know I’ve seen bread recipes that call for them. Your bread looks delcioius. Why do you call the steps bulk fermentation and final proof? Proof to me is what is in the pudding… okay I couldn’t resist. Proofing is what you do with yeast to make sure it is active. For the most part I’ve only seen these steps called letting the bread rise and then second rise.

  7. 25 Homemade Pumpkin Bread Recipes: {Fall Goodness} : TipNut.com Says:

    […] Ginger Pumpkin Braid: This is a ginger pumpkin braid that spawned from a lonely can of solid pack pumpkin in my cupboard. It’s a hearty, pumpkiny loaf spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom and ginger, and is a festive addition to any dinner table. Or dessert table, for that matter. Found at Toxo Bread. […]

  8. 25 Homemade Pumpkin Bread Recipes: {Fall Goodness} at Cooking~baking Says:

    […] Ginger Pumpkin Braid: This is a ginger pumpkin braid that spawned from a lonely can of solid pack pumpkin in my cupboard. It’s a hearty, pumpkiny loaf spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom and ginger, and is a festive addition to any dinner table. Or dessert table, for that matter. Found at Toxo Bread. […]

Leave a comment