Pane al cioccolato II

Pane al cioccolato the second

Pane al cioccolato the second

Quick post tonight: thought you might like to see the results of my latest [food] experiment, pane al cioccolato II.

Like its predecessor pane al cioccolato I, I made a pseudostarter, but went ahead and assembled the biga naturale the night before, and left it (covered with a damp cloth) in a cold Vermont kitchen until late afternoon the next day. Okay, not like cold as in so-freezing-it’s-time-for-yeast-to-hibernate cold, but cold like it’s-winter-here-and-I-need-to-wear-something-more-than-a-T-shirt kind of cold. Anyway, this meant that the biga naturale sat for close to 16 hours rather than 8.

The other major change was to proof it in a makeshift proofing basket, aptly discussed by Susan at Wild Yeast. I sprinkled flour on top of linen that lined a medium-sized mixing bowl and placed the shaped loaf seam side up in it to proof, covered with a piece of slightly damp linen. Last time I proofed it right side up (seam side down) on a piece of parchment, on a plate, and covered everything with a piece of slightly damp linen.

Slashed an “X” right before baking in a preheated 425F Pyrex bowl, 8 minutes with lid on and then ~18-20 minutes with lid off. The loaf was allowed to dry a bit by turning off the oven, leaving the door slightly ajar and letting it further sit inside for 10 minutes.

20090119panealcioccolato02

Good oven spring

X marks deliciousness

X marks deliciousness

So how did this loaf compare to the last one? This one had a chewier crust and had a richer chocolate and bread flavour, but I’m not sure if that was solely from the changes that I made this time. No matter how many times I make a particular recipe, it seems that because I constantly adjust and do some fine tweaking as I go, each loaf takes on its own character. Each loaf is a reflection of the temperature at that particular time of day, the humidity, what mood I’m in, and how hungry I am ha ha. I would name each of these babies but then wouldn’t have the heart to eat them. 😛

* * *

For those of you who need a bit of chocolate and bread today, I’m sending a slice to you!

Tags: ,

13 Responses to “Pane al cioccolato II”

  1. javapot Says:

    really beautiful. Now u make me want to get a proofing basket!

    • toxobread Says:

      Hi javapot: don’t need to get one, you can make your own! See Susan (Wild Yeast)’s post on how to make your own from bowls/baskets found around the house, and floured linen. They work just as well and then you don’t have to go out and spend a lot to get a proofing basket. That way, you can use the money to buy more flour, right?

  2. Foolish Poolish Says:

    Ooooooh!.beautiful!

    –FP

  3. Jie Jie Says:

    It looks so beautiful.
    I like the X and may do a star on my bread.

    :O)

    • toxobread Says:

      Thanks, Jie Jie! A star would be nice, but you know, you have to get around and starting baking first. 😉

  4. Jie Jie Says:

    I am lazy but I am inspired by your bread.
    Ok, not this week, may be next week!!
    Also think can we use a colander to make the shape?
    Just curious does it work.

  5. toxobread Says:

    Sure, you could definitely use a colander. I used a smaller mixing bowl and lined that with a floured towel (the IKEA ones we got), and then put the dough seam side (bottom) UP in the bowl, then covered the whole thing with a damp towel.

    You could probably use the plastic bowl (with purple flowers? purple and pink flowers?) or one of the medium-sized glass bowls for a proofing basket too.

  6. em Says:

    The last picture is really pretty 🙂
    The X scoring makes it look like of like those fancy mushroom hors d’oeuvre or something. Haha. Or not. I’m probably delusional since I’ve been cramming so hard for midterms…
    But I’m NOT crazy enough to decline a slice of that chocolate bread, if I were offered one :O

  7. toxobread Says:

    Em: Yeah, I could definitely see how cramming for midterms could make you (or me, or anyone for that matter) delusional. That would make me dream about all kinds of bread, mmmmm.
    *offers a slice of chocolate bread to you!*

  8. Kitchen M Says:

    Beautiful bread! I can imagine how good it smells and taste.

  9. Pan al chocolate « Madrid Tiene Miga Says:

    […] por  el dulce.  Descarté un pan tipo brioche  y buscando, buscando… me encontré con este pan que cumplía todas mis expectativas.  Hice una  prueba para comprobar si podría ser el pan que […]

Leave a comment