Mark Sinclair’s Portuguese Sweet Bread

Portuguese Sweet Bread

Portuguese Sweet Bread

– What’s a portuguese roll?
– Ohhhhhhhh, it’s verrrrrrrry good.

So said Michael Stern during the April 4th episode of The Splendid Table.

They’re mildly sweet with a touch of honey but don’t taste “eggy” or like cake. The dough is a joy to work with and makes your kitchen smell wonderful as the buns are baking. I enjoy having them lightly toasted with a bit of jam, or just plain. I’ve heard they make excellent french toast, pulled pork sandwiches, or bacon, egg and cheese sandwiches too. They’re simply excellent – in fact, someone told me it was even his/her new favourite bread.

Mark Sinclair’s Portuguese Sweet Bread

There are two versions of the recipe: a straight dough (no preferments) or with a biga prepared the night before. Both can be found here.

I’ve made both versions and they turn out equally well. These pictures, by the way, are of 3 oz (85 g) rolls made with the version that uses a biga.

20090412portuguesesweetbread02

* * *

I’m sending these portuguese sweet buns to Mark at The Back Home Bakery for sharing his wonderful recipe, to Susan at Wild Yeast for YeastSpotting, and to Zorra at 1x umrühren bitte for hosting this week’s YeastSpotting.

Tags: ,

18 Responses to “Mark Sinclair’s Portuguese Sweet Bread”

  1. Jude Says:

    I thought that name sounded familiar. It’s that guy from The Fresh Loaf 🙂 the recipe and your buns remind me of pan de leche.

    • toxobread Says:

      Ha ha I’ve run into some of your comments on The Fresh Loaf too 🙂
      I need to try your pan de leche recipe (and the pan de sal one) – both look tasty.

  2. macie Says:

    Wow, those are beautiful! Seriously, they look perfect 🙂

  3. zorra Says:

    These rolls on for breakfast and you don’t need to travel to Portugal – it’s right on your table. 😉

  4. mcs Says:

    Perfect! They look great, and I’m glad you enjoy the recipe!

  5. toxobread Says:

    Zorra: Mmm and now I just need to try my hand at making pastéis de nata (Portuguese custard tarts), right?

    Mark: Thanks! Your tutorials on shaping helped a lot, and thanks again for sharing the recipe with us!

  6. Sara Says:

    These sound interesting. I want to try them.

  7. Stefanie Says:

    The rolls look great! Well done!

  8. Susan/Wild Yeast Says:

    Wonderful! I really like the idea of the pulled pork sandwich.

    • toxobread Says:

      Susan: it does sound good, doesn’t it? Or anything sandwiched in between two halves of the bun, mmmmm.

  9. Mrs Ergül Says:

    Hi! Thanks for dropping by my humble blog! You have got lots of variety here! I see myself checking your site out pretty often!

  10. toxobread Says:

    Hi Mrs Ergül! Thanks for dropping by my blog as well. I like to try baking a variety of different breads – hope you’ll enjoy the reading!

  11. MaMely Says:

    I thought for a second these are Filipino bread. they look so awesome!

  12. toxobread Says:

    MaMely: Jude at Apple Pie, Patis and Pate posted a recipe for pan de leche here: http://www.applepiepatispate.com/bread/filipino-pan-de-leche/ that may be what you’re thinking of. They look really good, don’t they? 🙂

  13. BBD#23 – Zopf « Toxo Bread Says:

    […] I make challah and other lovely enriched breads regularly, I’ve never made zopf before. Zopf is a traditional Swiss Sunday bread that appears […]

Leave a comment