Garlic Buns

20090114garlicbuns01

Garlic Buns

If you read my previous post, you might be wondering: why did I have garlic butter on hand anyway?

Here’s why.

These are even better than I thought they would be. I made 3 batches of these when I went home for the holidays, and they all disappeared quickly. What I like about this recipe is that I made it up based on a basic white sandwich bread recipe. You’ll  notice there are no specific measurements because you can adjust it to your liking, depending on how garlicky or crusty you want the bread to be.

Garlic Buns

Inspired by Happy Home Baking’s Garlic Buns, and
built upon King Arthur Flour’s Classic Sandwich Bread

Ingredients

Dough

– 3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
– 1 cup warm liquid: milk and/or water (more milk makes the buns softer and tender, more water makes them more crusty)
– 4 tbsp (1/4 cup) vegetable oil
– 2 tbsp sugar
– 1 1/4 tsp salt
– 2 tsp instant yeast, or 2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast
– 1/2 tsp dried basil
– 1/2 tsp dried oregano

Egg Wash

– 1 egg, lightly beaten

Filling

– approx. 2 tbsp butter at room temperature
– 2-4 cloves of garlic, minced (depending on how much garlic flavour you prefer)
– 1 tsp dried parsley

Directions

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in the warm liquid along with the sugar, and allow to proof at room temperature until foamy, about 10 minutes.

Add the flour, oil, salt and herbs to the bowl, and stir until the dough begins to come together and leaves the sides of the bowl. Adjust the consistency as need: if the dough feels too dry, add a little bit of water, stir and check again; if the dough feels too wet, add a little bit of flour, stir and check again.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface, and knead until it becomes smooth and supple, around 6 to 8 minutes. Transfer the dough to a lightly greased bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and allow the dough to rise till approximately doubled, about 60 minutes.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface (I used a cutting board) and divide into the number of portions you want – I’ve shaped this amount of dough into 6 (big), 8 (medium-sized) and 12 (small) buns, all with good results. Shape each portion into a ball and let them rest for 5-10 minutes. Then, shape each bun into a oval or torpedo shape*, place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and cover lightly with plastic wrap. Let the buns rise until puffy, around 30 minutes.

*I like this shaping tutorial from The Back Home Bakery.

Prepare the filling by mixing the softened butter, minced garlic and parsley. Brush the egg wash on each bun, and using a sharp knife, slit each bun lengthwise and pipe or spoon the filling into the slits.

Slit each bun lengthwise, and pipe the garlic butter filling into each slit.

Slit each bun lengthwise, and pipe the garlic butter filling into each slit.

Bake in a preheated 350F oven for 12-16 minutes, depending on how large you shaped your buns.

20090114garlicbuns03


* * *

I’m sending a garlic bun to Happy Homebaker for sharing her baking adventures and inspiring these garlic buns, and a garlic bun to Susan at Wild Yeast for Yeastspotting.


Tags: , ,

17 Responses to “Garlic Buns”

  1. Rosa Says:

    What gorgeous buns! Savory breads are wonderful! Yummy!

    Cheers and thanks for passing by!

    Rosa

  2. Kelly Says:

    Wow, these look fantastic. I wouldn’t have thought to pile the filling in the slit like that – genius!

  3. Andrea Says:

    Jackie, those look amazing. Ragnar would go crazy for them because if left to his own devices, I’m pretty sure he’d just eat raw garlic. And you developed the recipe yourself. You are a star!

  4. em Says:

    Those look really good. Cutting the slit and putting the garlic filling inside is ingenius! Yum, garlic bread.

  5. Susan/Wild Yeast Says:

    What, I only get one? Such a simple technique, but what a stunning result! Garlic bread, pasta, and salad is one of my favorite meals ever.

  6. YeastSpotting January 16, 2009 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] Garlic Buns […]

  7. Margie Says:

    These rolls are lovely. I love the way you sliced and filled them. I think I can almost taste them, too. Such beauties!

  8. Mary Says:

    These look amazing. And the stuffed split is revolutionary.

  9. mimi9 Says:

    I used to make something like these a long time ago but I would roll them up jellyroll style with the garlic butter inside. I like your idea to fill in the slash on the top of the roll instead. The rolls look delish!

  10. Elra Says:

    I bet your house smell so delicious when you baked this bread. Sounds like delicious recipe.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  11. Michael Says:

    mmmmm, that looks delicious!
    I want some!

  12. toxobread Says:

    Rosa: Thanks! Savory (and sweet) breads are wonderful indeed!

    Kelly, em, Mary: I know! I would have never thought to put filling in the slashes after I score the dough! Well, heh heh HHB came up with the stuffed split and I really liked how hers turned out. Then the butter adds the perfect touch to these buns, especially while they’re still warm.

    Andrea: Thanks! It’s funny how I came to make these in the first place anyway. I was visiting my parents over the holidays and my mom had gotten 20 heads of garlic for some crazy deal, so she asked me if I could “use some up.” Lo and behold, garlic buns it was! I think I ended up helping polish off a couple of heads with all the baking. best excuse to bake, right? What am I saying… no one ever needs an excuse to bake.

    Susan: [nearly falls out of my chair] Ha ha ha you can have as many as you want! I love garlic bread, pasta and salad too. It makes me happy just thinking about it. ^_^

    Margie: Thank you very much!

    mimi9: Ooooh jellyroll style (savory pinwheel-ish?) would be great too! I should try that with my next batch. Thanks for the idea!

    Elra: Yup, it smelled great while these buns were baking. Then I baked a coffeecake and the house smelled like a combination of the two (which was a bit unusual… but delicious anyway).

    Mike: thanks!

  13. Recipe Box | Fine Diners Club Says:

    […] Garlic Buns […]

  14. Jude Says:

    Love how you shaped these.. Probably not for a date night but I’ll keep this recipe in mind.

  15. Diana Says:

    Very nice recipe and instructions –
    I have a wonderful garlic bread …
    Thanks so much, Diana

    • toxobread Says:

      Thanks for giving these a try, Diana! Yours look great and I am glad you liked them. 🙂
      – Jackie

Leave a comment